Athletes To Be Honored At CSHOF Banquet

Eight outstanding county athletes will be honored at the Chautauqua Sports Hall of Fame’s 42nd annual induction banquet on Feb. 19 at the Lakewood Rod & Gun Club.

First to be recognized will be Tate Catanese, Bryce Hinsdale and Grant Lictus from the Clymer/Sherman/Panama football team, who were chosen as First Team All-New York State Class D by the New York State Sportswriters Association.

Also to be honored will be Joanne Meadows, coach of the New York State Class D volleyball champions from Chautauqua Lake Central School, and two of her players, Brynn Engdahl and Ava Olson, who were chosen as First Team All-New York State Class D performers.

Lauren Cotter, from the Southwestern Trojans volleyball team, will be recognized as being a First Team All-New York State Class B Player.

Finally, Elizabeth Pucci-Schaefer from Fredonia Central School, will be honored as an AAU All-American Diver.

Members of the CSHOF Class of 2024 who will be enshrined that evening will be Karen Bakewell, Daniel Bryner, Cheryl Burns, Tom D’Angelo, Doug Kaltenbach, Rod Maloy, Carlene Sluberski, Karen Tellinghuisen and Judy Young.

Tickets to the banquet are available at the CSHOF, 15 W. Third St., Jamestown; at the Jock Shop, 10 Harrison St., Jamestown; at Matt’s News 93 E. Third St., Dunkirk; by calling Chip Johnson, banquet chairman, at 716-485-6991; or online at https://www.chautauquasportshalloffame.org/.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $2.99/week.

Subscribe Today