Maple Grove’s Cresanti Receives Central Division’s Top Honor

Maple Grove senior goalkeeper Nathan Cresanti was named the Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Athletic Association Central Division’s Player of the Year. P-J photo by Tim Frank

Maple Grove finished with a perfect 10-0-0 mark in Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Athletic Association Central Division boys soccer this fall.

For their efforts, several Red Dragons were honored on the league’s postseason all-star team.

Senior goalkeeper Nathan Cresanti was named the league’s Player of the Year, while he was joined on the First Team by four teammates.

Cresanti spearheaded a Maple Grove defense that allowed just 21 goals all season and made a majority of the team’s 56 saves. He was also part of nine clean sheets.

Senior Jonah Foley was named to the First Team after leading the Red Dragons with 18 goals and finishing second on the team with 10 assists. Senior Trey DeMink was a crucial part of the team’s defense and also chipped in a goal and two assists. Senior Keegan Rishel was third on the team with 14 goals and also third with seven assists. Maple Grove’s final First-Team selection, junior Drew Oste, was second in goals with 16 and first in assists with 12.

Maple Grove’s Jonah Foley (7) was named a Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Athletic Association Central Division First-Team all-star. P-J file photo

Maple Grove also earned the Sportsmanship Award with senior defender Matt Trim the Individual Sportsmanship Award winner.

Second-place Westfield/Brocton finished second in the league with an 8-2-0 record and placed three players on the First Team.

Junior Carson Swanson poured in a team-high 32 goals to go along with 13 assists, which tied for the team high. Senior Aiden Gatto tied for second on the team with 11 goals and tied for the team lead with 13 assists. Senior Donovan St. George anchored the Wolverines defense that allowed 34 goals on the season and also chipped in a goal of his own.

Westfield/Brocton’s Neil Huber was named the Coach of the Year.

Third-place North Collins finished with a 5-4-1 league record and was represented on the First Team by senior Derek Ebersole, who had a team-high 22 goals and 13 assists.

Westfield/Brocton’s Carson Swanson (11), was named a Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Athletic Association Central Division First-Team all-star. P-J file photo

Fourth-place Frewsburg had a 3-5-2 league mark and was represented on the First Team by seniors Zayne Cline and Garrett Brink. Cline anchored a Bears defense that allowed 37 goals on the season, while Brink led the team in goals with 12 and chipped in a pair of assists.

Fifth-place Chautauqua Lake also had two players recognized on the First Team. Senior Clayton Fairbank anchored the defense in front of junior Brendan Klossner.

Silver Creek senior Dean League represented the Black Knights scoring six goals and adding an assist.

Gary London was named the Referee of the Year by the league.

First Team

Nathan Cresanti Senior Maple Grove

Jonah Foley Senior Maple Grove

Trey Demink Senior Maple Grove

Keegan Rishel Senior Maple Grove

Drew Oste Junior Maple Grove

Carson Swanson Junior Westfield/Brocton

Aiden Gatto Senior Westfield/Brocton

Donovan St George Senior Westfield/Brocton

Derek Ebersole Senior North Collins

Zayne Cline Senior Frewsburg

Garret Brink Senior Frewsburg

Clayton Fairbank Senior Chautauqua Lake

Brendan Klossner Junior Chautauqua Lake

Dean League Senior Silver Creek

Second Team

Matt Trim Senior Maple Grove

Gavin Rogers Senior Maple Grove

Ryan Lockwood Junior Maple Grove

Fletcher DeMink Senior Maple Grove

Anthony Gatto Sophomore Westfield/Brocton

Mihir Patel Senior Westfield/Brocton

Isaac Stoughton Junior Westfield/Brocton

Matt Warsaw Senior North Collins

Daniel Downes Senior North Collins

Kenton Dahlin Senior Frewsburg

Gavin Smith Senior Frewsburg

Nate Henry Junior Chautauqua Lake

Kameron Press Junior Chautauqua Lake

Alex Karnes Junior Silver Creek

Tom Hogg Senior Silver Creek

Honorable Mention

Caleb Barton Senior Maple Grove

Jake Reinhardt Junior Maple Grove

Ty Kraft Sophomore Maple Grove

Cameron Paternosh Senior Westfield/Brocton

Tristen Phillips Junior Westfield/Brocton

Tahner Stowe Sophomore Westfield/Brocton

Vinny Sanfillipo Senior Frewsburg

Lincoln Smith Junior Chautauqua Lake

Anthony Powell Junior Chautauqua Lake

Jonah Farina Senior North Collins

Angelo Fera Junior North Collins

Travis Brennan Junior Silver Creek

Joel Dolce Senior Silver Creek


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *


Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today