Trojans Top Small Schools At East Aurora

Southwestern won the boys Small School title Saturday at the East Aurora Invitational. Pictured, from left, are: Kenji Walters, Lukas Svenson, Trey Faulk, Donavin Brown, Sam Kautzman and Tyler Raumbacher. Submitted photo

EAST AURORA — Southwestern won the boys Small School title at the East Aurora Invitational on Saturday.

Trojans senior Trey Faulk was fourth (16:18.06), followed by junior Donavin Brown in ninth, senior Sam Kautzman in 16th, freshman Lukas Svenson in 28th and senior Kenji Walters in 33rd as Southwestern finished with 85 points.

Gowanda was second with 119 points, led by junior Chase Bolen in 17th place (17:41.64), senior Jayson Twoguns in 19th, freshman Cashis Montour in 21st, sophomore Joseph Fernandes in 27th and freshman Maddox Hudson in 49th.

Frewsburg’s boys took third, paced by junior Cody Kent in third (16:05.43), senior Juvenal Diaz-Cortes in fifth (16:20.39) and senior Xander Pitts in sixth (16:23.91). The Bears’ final two scorers were junior Daniel Peterson in 48th and senior Nathaniel Colley in 83rd.

Silver Creek/Forestville was the final boys team in the Small School Division and finished 15th, led by junior Benjamin Bock in 66th (19:15.44).

Unattached runners in the boys Small School race included: Dunkirk senior Lucas Lawrie (20th place), Dunkirk senior Willjariel Santiago (39th place), Cattaraugus-Little Valley freshman Alexander Pietras (98th place), Dunkirk senior Zachary Zentz (117th place), Cattaraugus-Little Valley freshman Nolan Emborsky (118th place), Salamanca senior Kaine Whitcomb (169th place) and Cattaraugus-Little Valley freshman Brady Preston (175th place).

Jamestown was third in the boys Large School race with 121 points. Senior Stephen Hallberg was 15th (16:22.89), followed by senior Maxwell Knight in 18th, junior Tyler Zwald in 28th, senior Greg Brumagin in 32nd and junior Julian Himes in 33rd.

Frewsburg finished eighth in the girls Small School Division with 181 points, paced by junior Teghan Trocki in 34th place (21:49.22) and freshman Grace Gilevski in 35th. Also for the Bears, freshman Olivia Nelson was 47th, eighth-grader Raegan Cheney was 59th and junior Olivia Hallenbeck was 68th.

Gowanda’s girls were 10th with 215 points. Senior Calie Hudson was the Panthers’ top individual finisher in 11th (20:09.16). Senior Autumn Pupo was 32nd, senior Alhanna Gabel was 79th, junior Jaylynn Elliott was 86th and sophomore Isabelle Graham was 90th.

Jamestown took ninth in the girls Large School race with 248 points. Freshman London Hamilton took 13th place (19:30.75), followed by junior Belle Johnson in 26th, sophomore Gabriella Knight in 41st, junior Nolah Hamilton in 73rd and sophomore Allison MacCallum in 122nd.

Southwestern was 11th in the girls Large School race with 295 points. Sophomore Tryniti Card was 48th (21:46.64), followed by freshman Katie Bishop in 50th, sophomore Lillian Weikel in 64th, senior Brooke Long in 69th and senior Marley Ohl in 87th.

Unattached runners in the girls Small School race included: Silver Creek/Forestville eighth-grader Leah Mays (fifth place), Silver Creek/Forestville senior Emily Bowers (seventh place), Dunkirk sophomore Hanan Mohamad (10th place), Salamanca junior Ryanna Brady (14th place), Cattaraugus-Little Valley sophomore Allison Weishaupt (77th place) and Cattaraugus-Little Valley senior Bailey Cannon (88th place).

East Aurora senior Owen Rung won the boys Large School race in 15:04.08, while Fairport won the team crown with 25 points. City Honors freshman Henry Peterson won the boys Small School race in 15:48.35.

Frontier junior Lillie Bogdan won the girls Large School race in 17:04.20, while East Aurora won the team title with 25 points. Springville junior Kirsten Melnik won the girls Small School race in 17:48.81 and Allegany-Limestone won the team crown with 69 points.


Large School

1. Owen Rung (East Aurora); 2. Shane Fraser (East Aurora); 3. Owen Willard (Fairport); 4. Tyler Fischer (Fairport); 5. Colin Lesher (Fairport); 6. Austin Bubel (Fairport); 7. Connor Roeser (Fairport); 8. Jackson Hickey (Fairport); 9. Owen Olson (Amherst); 10. John Neudeck (Hamburg). T–15:04.08

Small School

1. Henry Peterson (City Honors); 2. Jaydan Ruble (Wilson); 3. Cody Kent (Frewsburg); 4. Trey Faulk (Southwestern); 5. Juvenal Diaz-Cortes (Frewsburg); 6. Xander Pitts (Frewsburg); 7. Felix Hatton (City Honors); 8. Lincoln McGrath (Byron-Bergen); 9. Donavin Brown (Southwestern); 10. Lucas Peterson-Volz (Olean). T–15:48.35


Large School

1. Lillie Bogdan (Frontier); 2. Emilie O’Leary (East Aurora); 3. Shannon Zugelder (Starpoint); 4. Noel Barlette (Orchard Park); 5. Kailyn Houghton (East Aurora); 6. Ari Reback (Fairport); 7. Catherine Schoeneman (East Aurora); 8. Hannah Casler (Fairport); 9. Annabelle Czekanski (Orchard Park); 10. Hope Owens (East Aurora). T–17:04.20

Small School

1. Kirsten Melnik (Springville); 2. Olivia Harmony (West Valley); 3. Fiona Murphy (Buffalo Seminary); 4. Elexa Duggan (Allegany-Limestone); 5. Leah Mays (Silver Creek/Forestville); 6. Ciara Ledford (Allegany-Limestone); 7. Emily Bowers (Silver Creek/Forestville); 8. Rose Wilson (Byron-Bergen); 9. Lilly Coulter (Allegany-Limestone); 10. Hanan Mohamad (Dunkirk). T–17:48.81


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *


Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today