Locals Shine At NYWAY Meet

WRCL’s Walter Lukasiak is pictured, second from left, after winning the D9 245-pound division.

SYRACUSE — The best youth wrestling programs in New York made the trek to the New York State Fairgrounds in Syracuse this past weekend to compete in the 2023 Open State Championship.

The Westfield/Ripley/Chautauqua Lake Wrestling Club, the Gowanda Wrestling Club and the Falconer Youth Wrestling Club had several kids reach the podium with five, four and two wrestlers, respectively, reaching the top spot in their divisions.

Reaching the top of the podium for WRCL were Walter Lukasiak, Mae Machemer, Kassidy Benedetto, Aurora Maring and Noli Paddock; taking first for Gowanda were Maverick Olszewski, Thatcher Gernatt, Bryson Olszewski and Carter Ray; and Falconer’s top two were Kamdyn Schimek and Kyle Dilker.

Lukasiak earned first place with three pins at 245 pounds of the D9 division of 2009-born wrestlers. He first pinned Dylan Baxter in 12 seconds, then Peyton Mullin in 38 seconds and wrapped things up with pinning Kamdyn Dittmann in 25 seconds.

Mae Machemer took first in the girls Division 2, G2 (2014-2012) at 50-54 pounds. She first lost to Gowanda’s Daphne Twoguns in sudden victory 9-7, but battled back with pins over Honor Smoke in 44 seconds, Aris Beauchamp at 1:42, Monica Phillips in 17 seconds and then she recorded a 6-0 decision over Hailey Reese. Machemer also wrestled against the 2014 boys at 53 pounds and came in sixth place.

Gowanda Youth Wrestling Club champions, pictured, from left, are: Bryson Olszewski, Carter Ray, Maverick Olszewski and Thatcher Gernatt. Submitted photo

Benedetto finished atop the G2 60-65-pound division, earning a 7-2 decision over Emma Della-Penta in the finals. Maring won G2 at 74-81 pounds with pins over Aubrey Brown in 35 seconds, Julia Reid in 18 seconds, Niya Mateo in 26 seconds, Madison Olmo in 30 seconds and Ariana Caballeros in 46 seconds. Paddock won G3 (2011-2009) at 126-140 pounds with pins over Isabella Bailey of Gowanda at 2:43 and Kaitlyn Young at 1:34, a 15-0 technical fall over Nevaeh Senik, a forfeit win over Kaibree Gaba and a medical-forfeit victory against Naomie Horn.

Gowanda’s Olszewski won D1 (2017) 50-pound division with a pin over Adrian Lacognata at 38 seconds; Gernatt took first in D2 (2016) 63-pound division with a pin over Gideon Gabler in 32 seconds; Olszewski earned a narrow 2-0 win over Callen Livermore to win D4 (2014) 59-pound division; and Ray won D4 at 67 pounds with a 4-0 decision over Kannon Kline.

Falconer’s Schimek won at 56 pounds of D1 with pins over Zayden Sell in 22 seconds, Tallon Price at 1:42 and Eddie Liszewski in 38 seconds and then a 16-4 major decision over runner-up Keegan Carpenter. Dilker finished atop D4 at 101 pounds by a 7-3 decision over Luca Acciari, then pins against Sully Worytko in 17 seconds, Brock Keeler in 27 seconds and Gregory Pym in 22 seconds.

WRCL had several wrestlers leave with a medal and a win, three wrestlers took home silver and five wrestlers won bronze.

In second place, Tanner Foster fell in the D6 (2012) 102-pound final to Ty Bartlett by a 2-0 decision; Rocco Muscarella was pinned by Mert Ozturk in the D9 87-pound final and Thandon Bensink lost the D10 (2008-2004) 110-pound final to Drew Schiavo 7-4.

WRCL’s Mason Maring is pictured, center, after finishing third at D10 215 pounds.

In third place, Charlie Machemer won D2 50 pounds with a forfeit win, Bruno Muscarella earned a 2-0 decision over Zayne Woodwor at D3 (2015) 57 pounds, Chase Shirley defeated Samana Massey 4-2 at D6 83 pounds, Lance Franklin pinned Anthony Perrino at 4:09 in D9 106 pounds, and Mason Maring earned a 15-0 technical fall over Brice Dadey in D10 215 pounds.

Also placing for WRCL were fourth-place finishers Tyler Foster (D7, 2011, 80 pounds) and Jordin Eddy (D8, 2010, 120 pounds); fifth-place finisher Chester Machemer (D6, 70 pounds; and sixth-place finishers Mae Machemer, Izzy Hurlburt (G4, 2008-2004, 120 pounds) and Kieara Graves (G4, 130 pounds).

Gowanda had three wrestlers take home bronze medals. Kasen Hill earned an 8-5 decision over Sawyer Hatch in D4 75 pounds; Daphne Twoguns pinned Aris Beauchamp in 1:13, earned a major decision over Honor Smoke 13-3 and then pinned Monica Phillips in 16 seconds for third in G2 50-54 pounds; and Isabella Bailey earned a sudden victory over Naomie Horn 9-7 and pinned Kaitlyn Young in 2:21 for third.

Also placing for Gowanda were Bailey earning fourth in D7 142 pounds, Twoguns taking fifth in D5 (2013) 54 pounds and Raelyn Diebel placing sixth in G3 74-82 pounds.

Falconer had one silver medalist in Patrick Braley at D9 155 pounds, coming up short in the final to Jayden Hutchinson by a 9-5 decision; Dylan Newman earned bronze at D10 110 pounds with a pin in the third-place match against Derek Walseman at 4:11 and Carson Braley took third in D7 at max 175 pounds.

Rounding out the rest of the Falconer wrestlers were Fisher Ward (D2, 54 pounds) and Evan Newman (D10, 110 pounds) with fifth-place finishes and Conner Howard (D4, 75 pounds) taking sixth.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *


Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today