Waters Named CCAA D2 West POY

Chautauqua Lake’s Jenna Waters was named the CCAA Division 2 West volleyball Player of the Year for the second straight year. P-J photo by Christian Storms

Chautauqua Lake senior Jenna Waters was named the Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Athletic Association Division 2 West girls volleyball Player of the Year for the second straight year recently after leading the Thunderbirds to their second straight Section VI Class D championship.

Waters led Chautauqua Lake with 531 digs to go along with 53 kills and 47 aces. She was joined on the league’s First Team by a pair of teammates: junior Ava Olson and senior Mallory Morrison. Olson was first on the Thunderbirds with 79 aces and second with 174 kills and 371 assists. Morrison led the team with 407 aces to go along with 100 kills and 41 aces.

Panama had a pair of seniors on the First Team in Jo Bailey and Mandy Brink. Bailey led the Panthers with 235 kills, 90 blocks and 54 aces. Brink had a team-high 457 assists and 265 digs to go along with 61 kills and 45 aces.

Clymer/Sherman sophomore Janelle Burchanowski and senior Cora Goldberg were also named to the First Team. Burchanowski led the Wolves with 343 assists and was second with 99 digs, 77 aces and 31 blocks to go along with 43 kills. Goldberg led the team in kills with 160 and blocks with 48 while chipping in 97 digs and 57 aces.

Junior Tanleigh Bestine represented Westfield on the First Team after turning in a team-high 237 assists to go along with 98 digs, 42 aces, 46 kills and 29 blocks.

Panama senior Jo Bailey was named to the CCAA Division 2 West First Team. P-J file photo

Maple Grove seniors Eliza Dawes and Erin Mansfield completed the First Team.

Cassadaga Valley earned the Team Sportsmanship Award with Dana Maze as the Cougars’ Individual Sportsmanship Award honoree. Other individuals recognized were: Chautauqua Lake’s Alex Reyda, Panama’s Mackenzie Greene, Burchanowski, Dawes, Westfield’s Haleigh Delow, Forestville’s Kaitie LoManto and Brocton’s Breanna Kelley.


Jenna Waters Senior Chautauqua Lake

Jo Bailey Senior Panama

Mandy Brink Senior Panama

Eliza Dawes Senior Maple Grove

Erin Mansfield Senior Maple Grove

Janelle Burchanowski Sophomore Clymer/Sherman

Ava Olson Junior Chautauqua Lake

Tanleigh Bestine Junior Westfield

Cora Goldberg Senior Clymer/Sherman

Mallory Morrison Senior Chautauqua Lake


Keara Kincaid Junior Westfield

Hayden Fisher Senior Clymer/Sherman

Jordan Austin Senior Cassadaga Valley

Sarah Harvey Junior Panama

Alex Reyda Senior Chautauqua Lake

Rachael King Senior Maple Grove

Haleigh Dellow Senior Westfield

Hannah Group Senior Chautauqua Lake

Allison Wakelee Senior Cassadaga Valley


Cassadaga Valley: Hailey Anderson (Sr.)

Clymer/Sherman: Natalie Johnson (Sr.)

Forestville: Gracie Johnson (Sr.), Kaitie LoManto (Soph.)

Maple Grove: Hannah Benson (Jr.), Abby Harrell (Sr.), Megan Lockwood (Sr.)

Panama: Corinne Hovey (Jr.), Lilly Odell (Sr.)


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *


Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today