Salamanca’s Kennedy Is D2 East Girls POY

Salamanca senior Nizhoni Kennedy was recently named the Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Athletic Association Division 2 East girls basketball Player of the Year.

Kennedy was joined on the league’s First Team by junior teammate Jaeden Hubbard. Cattaraugus-Little Valley sophomore Alex Minnekine; North Collins junior Makenna Williams; and Ellicottville senior Makenna Smith and sophomore Emilee Ruiz were also named to the First Team.

Salamanca’s Bryelle Wallin was named the league’s Coach of the Year while Ellicottville and Pine Valley shared the league’s Sportsmanship Award.

CCAA Division 2 East All-Stars


Nizhoni Kennedy Senior Salamanca

Alex Minnekine Sophomore Cattaraugus-Little Valley

Makenna Williams Junior North Collins

Emilee Ruiz Sophomore Ellicottville

Makenna Smith Senior Ellicottville

Jaeden Hubbard Junior Salamanca


Evelyn Nuzzo Senior Ellicottville

Maddie Jones Senior Cattaraugus-Little Valley

Camryn Earley Senior Ellicottville

Emma Rupp Senior Cattaraugus-Little Valley

Kylee Dowdy Senior Salamanca


Cattaraugus-Little Valley: Abby Minnekine (Sr.)

North Collins: Hailey Jasinski (Fresh.), Michaela Rice (Soph.)

Pine Valley: Haley Campbell (Sr.), Lyric Westlund (Jr.), Payton Swanson (Sr.), Sadie Fadale (Sr.)

Salamanca: Marla Warrior (Jr.), Jillian Rea (Soph.)


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)