SW Boys Soccer Team Receives West Division Honors

Southwestern’s Michael Carnes is the CCAA West Division boys soccer Player of the Year. P-J file photo by Scott Kindberg

The Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Athletic Association West Division boys soccer all-star teams were released last week, with the Southwestern Trojans taking home plenty of honors after their 12-6 season and perfect 10-0 league record.

Michael Carnes has been named the All-Conference Player of the Year, while McKay Young is the Offensive Player of the Year and Jason Deering is the Coach of the Year.

Carnes finished with eight goals and six assists on the year for the Trojans, while Young collected 14 goals and nine assists.

Southwestern’s season came to an end with a 4-0 loss to Eden in Section VI Class B-2 semifinal action.

Joining Carnes and Young on the First Team are Addison Pope and Drew Keppel, who led a defensive unit that gave up 19 goals on the season.

Erik Peterson of Chautauqua Lake earned Defensive Player of the Year honors, leading the Thunderbirds to a 6-8-3 record.

Dunkirk captured the Team Sportsmanship Award and Emily Pleszewski was named the Official of the Year.

Also earning First Team berths were Joe Magro and Max Linderman of Olean; Juan Matias, Michael Dispense and Alex Rush of Fredonia; Alex Sanchez of Dunkirk; Carson D’Anthony, Erik Peterson and Hunter Harris of Chautauqua Lake; and Jacob Thierfeldt of Falconer/Cassadaga Valley.

Leading the Second-Team selections are Dominik Kahle, Graham Kinnaird and Quintin Allen of Olean; Jared Dorman of Falconer/Cassadaga Valley; Adam Sellari, Michael Berg and Alex Maytum of Fredonia; Devin Putney of Chautauqua Lake; Nick Hayes and Adam Sanchez of Dunkirk; as well as Simon Pirrello, Miracle Berakah and Marcus Kautzman of Southwestern.

CCAA West Division All-Stars


Joe Magro Olean 11th

Maxwell Linderman Olean 12th

Michael Carnes Southwestern 12th

McKay Young Southwestern 10th

Addison Pope Southwestern 12th

Drew Keppel Southwestern 11th

Juan Matias Fredonia 11th

Alex Sanchez Dunkirk 12th

Michael Dispense Fredonia 12th

Alex Rush Fredonia 11th

Carson D’Anthony Chautauqua Lake 11th

Erik Peterson Chautauqua Lake 12th

Hunter Harris Chautauqua Lake 11th

Jacob Thierfeldt Falconer/Cassadaga Valley 11th


Dominik Kahle Olean 10th

Graham Kinnaird Olean 12th

Quintin Allen Olean 9th

Jared Dorman Falconer/Cassadaga Valley 11th

Adam Sellari Fredonia 11th

Michael Berg Fredonia 11th

Alex Maytum Fredonia 12th

Devin Putney Chautauqua Lake 10th

Nick Hayes Dunkirk 12th

Adam Sanchez Dunkirk 12th

Simon Pirrello Southwestern 11th

Miracle Berakah Southwestern 11th

Marcus Kautzman Southwestern 11th


Olean: Lucas Sakala (11th), Kyle Pockalny (11th).

Fredonia: Dawson Bird (11th), Ronan Murphy (11th), Jack Carlson (11th), Tyler Rosen (12th).

Falconer/Cassadaga Valley: Jacob Booth (12th), Ian Anderson (9th), Noah Richner (11th).

Chautauqua Lake: Isai Saldana (12th).

Dunkirk: Bryson Travis (10th), Trevor Skelly (12th).

Southwestern: Max Vaughn (11th), Tim Galati (12th), Tucker Gesing (10th).


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)