Rotary Club Of Jamestown Announces 25th Annual Golf Tournament Results

Above is the winning team of the Best-Ball Division of the Rotary Charity Golf Classic at Moon Brook Country Club. From the left are Mike Bird, Jeff Keppel, Jerome Lee Yaw and Jason Stronz. Submitted photo

The scratch two-best-balls-of-four winners of the Rotary Club of Jamestown’s Charity Golf Classic held Monday at Moon Brook Country Club with a 119 were Mike Bird, Jerome Lee Yaw, Jason Stronz and Jeff Keppel.

The scratch winners in the Scramble Division were Jennifer Gibson, Mike Roberts, Kurt Eimiller and Jon Scalise.

The low Rotarian with a 67 was Phil Cala.

The proceeds of the Golf Classic, traditionally held the second Monday of July, support many projects of the club, both locally and internationally. The Rotary Club of Jamestown has underwritten the Jamestown Boys & Girls Club; Jamestown Babe Ruth baseball; the National Comedy Center and Park; literacy projects in local schools, libraries, and churches; a micro finance weaving cooperative in Nepal; Handicap Camp at Onyahsa; the worldwide eradication of polio; international youth exchange; and the purchase of Shelter Boxes for emergency uses in areas of flood, earthquakes and other natural disasters.

Other winners in Monday’s Charity Golf Classic included: Scott Sampson, Ken Lawton, Bill Burk and Steve Aughey, second place best ball with a 123; Kurt Johnson, Russ Ecklund, Jon Gren and Phil Cala, third place best ball with a 123; Justin Hanft, Ben Lindquist, Kevin Sixbey and Eric Harvey, second net scramble winners with a 51; and Lynn Gruel, Dawn Lai, Tim Card and Scott Smith, third net scramble winners.

Lindsay Alday, center, a new Rotarian and new golfer, was presented with the Sergeant at Arms Trophy as the highest scoring player by Rotary Club president Cheri Krull, right and historian Sue Jones. Submitted photo

Closest to the pin among the women were Jody Cheney (No. 4) and Christy Brecht (No. 13), while closest-to-the-pin honors for the men went to Kurt Johnson (No. 4), Kurt Eimiller (No. 13) and Colin Beaver (No. 17).

Longest drives were recorded by David Dawson and Dawn Lai. Mike Roberts was closest to the line on No. 13.

Above is the winning team of the Scramble Division of the Rotary Charity Golf Classic. From the left are Mike Roberts, Jon Scalise, Jennifer Gibson and Kurt Eimiller. Submitted photo

Rotary Club president Cheri Krull, left, presented the Bud Weaver Trophy to low Rotarian Phil Cala. At right is Moon Brook Country Club pro Mike Kaye. Submitted photo