Diamond Stars

Harvey, Swanson Lead Local All-State Picks

Panama's Ashlyn Harvey P-J file photo

With her bat and her arm, Panama’s Ashlyn Harvey led the Panthers to their first Section VI championship since 2010 on the softball diamond this spring.

The sophomore right-hander added to her personal accolades Saturday.

Harvey was named to the New York State Sportswriters Association/Coaches Organization for Girls Sports All-State team as a First-Team member of the Class D squad. On the season, Harvey went 13-3 with a 0.94 earned run average. She threw six shutouts, including a pair of no-hitters and struck out 159 over 104 innings pitched in the circle. At the plate, she hit .380 with five doubles, a triple and three home runs while driving in 13 runs and scoring 17 runs.

Maple Grove senior first baseman Elise Swanson was named to the Class C Second Team after leading the Red Dragons to a Section VI championship. The right-handed batter hit .519 with 10 doubles, three triples and six home runs while driving in 40 runs and scoring 30.

Chautauqua Lake teammates Olivia Anderson and Cianna Braymiller were named to the Class C Third Team after the Thunderbirds fell in the Section VI Class C1 title game.

Maple Grove's Elise Swanson P-J file photo

Anderson, a senior pitcher who was the Class C Player of the Year in 2018 when Chautauqua Lake won a state title, went 14-3 this year with a 0.93 ERA, striking out 158 and holding opponents to a .156 batting average. At the plate, Anderson hit .412 and drove in 17 runs while scoring 22. Braymiller, a senior third baseman who was a First-Team selection last season, hit .635 with 24 RBIs and 20 runs scored.

Panama senior shortstop Maci Johnson was named to the Third Team in Class D. The Panthers senior third baseman Abi Lisciandro was recognized on the Class D Fourth Team. Johnson hit .434 with five doubles and three triples while driving in 20 runs and scoring 19. Lisciandro was a .382 hitter, picking up two doubles while driving in nine runs and scoring 23. Lisciandro also stole 19 bases while Johnson stole nine.

Forestville junior shortstop Clare Kingsfield was also named to the Class D Fourth Team.

Cattaraugus-Little Valley junior shortstop Lexi Wulf was named to the Class C Fourth Team.

Fredonia had a pair of teammates recognized in Class B. Senior second baseman Sydney Bigelow and junior shortstop Kazlin Beers were named to the Sixth Team as was Gowanda sophomore pitcher Zoey Kota.

Chautauqua Lake's Olivia Anderson P-J file photo

In Class AA, the Player of the Year was senior pitcher Laura Bennett of Section IV Corning while the Coach of the Year was Corning’s Mike Johnston. Section VI student-athletes recognized included: Orchard Park junior third baseman Megan Geise on the Second Team; Orchard Park senior shortstop Sydney Bielicki on the Third Team; Williamsville North senior catcher Abby Vincent on the Fourth Team; Frontier senior pitcher Fiona Higgins and Clarence junior pitcher Leah Victor on the Fifth Team; Niagara Falls senior shortstop Arianna Peterson on the Sixth Team; Williamsville North senior third baseman Allie Macon on the Seventh Team; and Lockport junior third baseman Gianna Fazzolari and Clarence sophomore pitcher Julianne Bolton on the Eighth Team.

In Class A, the co-Players of the Year were Williamsville East sophomore pitcher Summer Clark and Section II Ballston Spa junior pitcher Lauren Kersch. The co-Coaches of the Year were Williamsville East’s Chris Durr and Ballston Spa’s Amanda Fifield. Williamsville East senior third baseman Rachel Steffan joined Clark on the First Team; Williamsville East eighth-grade catcher Ella Wesolowski, Williamsville East senior shortstop Christy Mack and Iroquois junior shortstop Kennedy Haberl were on the Second Team; Niagara Wheatfield senior shortstop Mackenzie Franks and Iroquois senior catcher Rachel Yax were named to the Third Team; Williamsville East sophomore second baseman Abbie Stellrecht and Maryvale junior center fielder Christie McGee-Ross were named to the Fourth Team; Lewiston-Porter senior pitcher Riley Crum was on the Fifth Team; and Niagara Wheatfield junior center fielder Maddie Evarts was on the Seventh Team.

The Class B Player of the Year was Section I Ardsley senior catcher Lauren Rende while the Coach of the Year was Ardsley’s Noreen Degnan. Section VI players recognized were Eden sophomore pitcher Marissa Calloway on the First Team; Eden sophomore outfielder Kaitlyn Schmitz and Olean senior pitcher Justine Brooks on the Second Team; Depew senior first baseman Annie DiPirro on the Third Team; Eden senior pitcher Mattie Woodard on the Fourth Team; and Royalton-Hartland senior catcher Maddy Fry on the Fifth Team.

Section IV Elmira Heights senior pitcher Bella Willsey was the Player of the Year in Class C while Elmira Heights’ Liz Warren was named Coach of the Year. Portville junior center fielder Karly Welty was named to the Fourth Team.

Section IV Deposit senior pitcher Makenzie Stiles was named the Class D Player of the Year while Deposit’s Dan Briggs was named Coach of the Year. North Collins sophomore pitcher Rebecca Holmes was named to the Third Team and her junior teammate, shortstop Emily Winter, was named to the Fourth Team.

Chautauqua Lake's Cianna Braymiller P-J file photo

Panama's Maci Johnson P-J file photo

Panama's Abi Lisciandro P-J file photo