Adams Honored In D2 East

MaKena Adams was named the Player of the Year and the Pitcher of the Year by Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Athletic Association Division 2 East coaches this season.

P-J file photo

Jon Blanchard has been the softball coach at Frewsburg for over 20 years.

He never remembers a player being named both the Player of the Year and the Pitcher of the Year on one of his league’s all-star teams.

Until this year.

Bears junior pitcher MaKena Adams was named both by the Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Athletic Association Division 2 East coaches.

In league play, Adams hit .548 with three home runs and 14 RBIs. She had a .935 slugging percentage and .692 on-base percentage.

In the circle she was equally impressive, going 10-0 with a 1.01 earned run average, striking out 129 and walking 14. Her opponents’ batting average was .146.

Blanchard was named the league’s Coach of the Year while Randolph earned the Team Sportsmanship Award. Individual Sportsmanship Award winners were Frewsburg’s Lian Eng, Randolph’s Kira Lewis, North Collins’ Jill Insalaco, Ellicottville’s Jessica Jimerson, Franklinville’s Sara Wright and Pine Valley’s Malori Waag.

Adams was joined on the league’s First Team by freshman teammate Elise Sposato.

Randolph placed three players on the First Team, led by junior Brynn Pagett. Sophomore Abbigail Mansfield and freshman Mya Abrams were also on the First Team.

North Collins senior Emily Winter and junior Rebecca Holmes were joined by Ellicottville freshman Jocelyn Wyatt and junior Makenna Smith. Franklinville junior Abby McCoy and senior Renee Szymanski as well as Pine Valley sophomore Morgan Sandy rounded out the First Team.

Frewsburg led the Second Team with four selections. Senior Kiah Johnson, junior Ashley Carlson, freshmen Peyton Yost and freshmen Reagan Chitester were all honored.

North Collins sophomore Myah Gabel, junior Morgan Smith and eighth-grader Hailey Jasinski were joined by Pine Valley junior Haley Campbell and freshman Trista Farnham on the Second Team. Randolph sophomore Lavani Johnson, Ellicottville senior Linnea Jimerson and Franklinville junior Dani Haskell rounded out the Second Team.


MaKena Adams Jr. Frewsburg

Elise Sposato Fresh. Frewsburg

Mya Abrams Fresh. Randolph

Abbigail Mansfield Soph. Randolph

Brynn Pagett Jr. Randolph

Emily Winter Sr. North Collins

Rebecca Holmes Jr. North Collins

Morgan Sandy Soph. Pine Valley

Jocelyn Wyatt Fresh. Ellicottville

Makenna Smith Jr. Ellicottville

Abby McCoy Jr. Franklinville

Renee Szymanski Sr. Franklinville


Ashley Carlson Jr. Frewsburg

Peyton Yost Fresh. Frewsburg

Kiah Johnson Sr. Frewsburg

Reagan Chitester Fresh. Frewsburg

Haley Campbell Jr. Pine Valley

Trista Farnham Fresh. Pine Valley

Lavani Johnson Soph. Randolph

Myah Gabel Soph. North Collins

Morgan Smith Jr. North Collins

Hailey Jasinski 8th North Collins

Linnea Jimerson Sr. Ellicottville

Dani Haskell Jr. Franklinville



Frewsburg: Sam Smith (Sr.), Riley Chitester (Jr.)

Randolph: Nikole Lockwood (Sr.)

Pine Valley: Payton Swanson (Jr.), Malori Waag (Sr.)

North Collins: Makenna Williams (Soph.), Selena Maciejewski (Soph.)

Ellicottville: Jenna Hadley (Soph.), Camryn Earley (Jr.), Courtney Sexton (Soph.)

Franklinville: Abby Burrell (Jr.), Tawnie Bowers (Jr.)


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)