Holiday Wrestling Classic Seeds Announced

SALAMANCA — The Holiday Wrestling Classic seeds were announced on Thursday evening for today’s tournament at the Allegany Community Center.

Wrestling is scheduled to begin at 5 p.m. today and 10 a.m. on Saturday, with wrestlers from Cattaraugus/Little Valley, Chautauqua Lake, Falconer, Franklinville, Fredonia, Frewsburg, Gowanda, Maple Grove, Newfane, Niagara Wheatfield, Portville, Randolph, Salamanca, Southwestern, Tioga, Eisenhower, North East, Northwestern, Port Allegheny and Warren schools attending.

Andy Lucinski of Newfane will be No. 1 at 99 pounds while Brayden Newman of Falconer/Cassadaga is the top seed at 106.

Leading at 113 is Logan Jaquay of Eisenhower, while Luke Tomlinson is the top grappler at 120 and Michael Carnes of Southwestern is No. 3.

Ryan Madigan of Warren leads the pack at 126 while Brendon Rowe of Chautauqua Lake is in the No. 2 spot.

Brady Worthing of Tioga is the top wrestler at 132, while Austin Bourgeois is in the No. 3 position. Justin McDougald of Niagara Wheatfield is the man to beat at 138.

Austin Lamb of Tioga is No. 1 at 145, while Warren McDougald of Niagara Wheatfield is No. 1 at 152.

Sam Grey of Cattaraugus-Little Valley is the No. 2 man at 152, and Jayden Lassiter of Portville is No. 1 at 160.

Falconer’s Mack Mikula is in the second spot at 160

Josh Thibeault of Niagara Wheatfield is No. 1 at 170 and Jordan Dustin of Falconer/Cassadaga Valley is No. 3, while Robbie Penhollow of Falconer/Cassadaga Valley is No. 1 at 182.

Jake Tomlinson of Maple Grove is No. 2 behind Penhollow, and Nick Marsh of Frewsburg is No. 3.

Justin Young of Port Allegheny is No. 1 at 195 while Dontae Hoose of Southwestern is in the No. 2 spot and Hudson Johnson of Falconer/Cassadaga is No. 3.

At 220, Josef Bauer of Eisenhower is the man to beat while Ben Szymanowski of Chautauqua Lake/Westfield/Panama is No. 2 and Jacob Zachar of Randolph is No. 3.

Ty Casinelli of Newfane is the man to beat at 285, while Collin Mower of Falconer/Cassadaga Valley is No. 2.


PORTVILLE — Chautauqua Lake/Westfield/Panama was able to sneak by host Portville, 41-39 in CCAA non-league wrestling on Thursday.

The winners were led by Trent Burchanowski’s pin at 113, while Hunter Harris won by fall at 126, Brendon Rowe earned a major decision win at 132, Austin Bourgeois earned a pin at 145, and Ben Szymanowski picked up a win via fall at 285.

99: Martin Ohlsson (C) md. Brandon Willover, 9-0

106: Jayden Malecki (C) dq. Bryan Randolph

113: Trent Burchanowski (C) p. Mario Pascucci, 2:42

120: Nick Carro (P) d. Wyatt Meeder, 2-1

126: Hunter Harris (C) p. Nick Carro, 3:51

132: Brendon Rowe (C) md. Joe Long, 12-2

145: Austin Bourgeois (C) p. Lucas Smith, 4:29

152: Dakota Mascho (P) p. Jarrett Howser, 2:27

160: Jayden Lassiter (P) win via forfeit

170: Roland Thompson (P) p. Zach Wolcott, 5:35

182: Miska Young (P) p. Mason Bestine, 5:16

195: Julian Morales (P) p. Collin Genthner, 3:16

220: Jarod Zenner (P) win via forfeit

285: Ben Szymanowski (C) p. Shayden Gibble, 0:38