Maple Grove Excels At Queensbury Invitational

The Maple Grove boys cross country team, led by third-place individual finisher Peter Auer, won the Queensbury Adirondack Invitational varsity Small School Division II championship Saturday. Submitted photo

QUEENSBURY — Paced by a third-place individual finish by junior Peter Auer, the Maple Grove boys cross country team won the varsity Small School Division II race at the Queensbury Adirondack Invitational on Saturday.

Auer finished the 5K race in 16:51.15, less than 14 seconds behind winner Evan Ensslin of Voorheesville.

The Red Dragons finished with 72 points, 17 better than second-place Mount Greylock. Briarcliff was third with 134 points while Sayville (159) and Broadalbin-Perth (170) rounded out the top five.

Maple Grove senior Frank Colburn finished 12th overall (17:47.30) while junior teammate Darius Jones was 14th (17:52.85). Another junior, Riley Auer, was 18th (18:05.03) and junior Nick Brunenavs completed the Red Dragons’ scoring quintet in 33rd (18:44.88).

Sophomore Drew Kelemen was 49th (19:18.08) and junior Tyler McPherson was 55th (19:26.85).

The Maple Grove girls, competing in the Large School Division I race, finished fifth overall with 155 points, paced by sophomore Christina Peppy’s seventh-place finish in 19:05.0.

Greenwich won the team title with 52 points followed by Champlain Valley (61), Bethlehem (88) and Niskayuna (102). Champlain Valley’s Alice Larson won the individual crown in 18:19.37.

Lady Red Dragons sophomore Ava Crist was eighth (19:18.12), freshman Abby Brunenavs was 37th (20:58.91), senior Bryn Mozzi was 50th (21:48.63) and sophomore Tori Pavlock was 53rd (22:09.03) to round out their scoring quintet.

Freshman Hannah Tarbrake was 54th (22:09.32) and sophomore Kendra Berg was 60th (22:34.47).

Saratoga Springs won the boys Large School Division I title with 49 points, paced by Shea Weilbaker’s first-place time of 15:39.06.

Mount Greylock won the girls Small School Division II crown with 71 points, led by Josie Smith, Jacqueline Wells and Kate Swann in second, third and fourth place, respectively. Greenville’s Tess Fitzmaurice won the race in 19:39.71.