Falconer Wrestling Team Captures Athens Tournament For First Time

ATHENS, Pa. — For the first time in its history, Falconer emerged as the champion of the annual Athens Wrestling Tournament on Saturday.

With one champion and five runnerups, the Golden Falcons easily won the crown with 268 points compared to host Athens with 206 points, State College with 171, Scranton with 153.5 points, Coughlin with 132 points and Palmyra-Macedon with 109.5 points. Johnson City finished with 94 points, Alexander with 87 points, Mafsebesic, Maine, with 74 points, Mariana Brecetti Academy with 68.5 points, Malden Catholic, Mass., with 56 points and Deposit with 51 points.

Corey Keefe of Falconer won the 195-pound title by defeating Noah Schneider from Mafsebesic, 10-7. Keefe had five pins en route to making his record 13-0.

Tony Fiasco (113), Jimmy Kramer (120), Dylan Ingrao (145), Jake Peru (182) and Cameron Page (160) were the second place finishers for the Golden Falcons.

Fiasco lost to Ethan Ferro from Palmyra-Macedon in 35 seconds, Kramer fell to K.J. Burkhart from Athens, 12-7, Ingrao lost to Will Evanisky from Scranton, 16-5, Peru fell to Cole Urbus from State College in an escape in the third period, 1-0; and Page lost to Kaidon Winters via pin in 5:33.

Falconer had three third places in Jacob Payne (106), Dan Torres (152) and Robbie Penhollow (170).

Nick Saeger (132) and Collin Mower (220) placed fourth, Chris Dutton (220) was fifth and Dillon Huck (heavyweight) sixth for Falconer.


CHEEKTOWAGA — Austin Bourgeois went undefeated as Chautauqua Lake-Westfield-Panama finished fifth among 10 teams at the annual Cheektowaga Duals on Saturday.

Bourgeois went 5-0 at 125 pounds as CL-W-P won over Canisius, 56-15; St. Joseph’s, 40-37; and Lackawanna, 84-6, while being defeated by Webster-Schroeder, 68-18, and Niagara-Wheatfield, 46-33, to bring  its overall record on the season to 3-2.

Hunter Harris (99), Brendan Rowe (138), Eric Ecklund (160) and Ben Szymanowski (220) all recorded four wins for  CL-W-P. Armando Arce (180), Tom Adolph (170) and Jim Wolfe (145) also came up with three wins.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)