Buchanan Wins Seat Following Absentee Ballot Count

A longtime Republican county legislator from Dunkirk has lost his seat following absentee ballot counting.

On Monday, the Chautauqua County Board of Elections counted the absentee ballots and reviewed races that were within a 20-vote margin.

Among the races reviewed was county Legislative District 1. On Election night, incumbent Kevin Muldowney had a 10-vote lead over challenger Marcus Buchanan, 721-711. Muldowney ran on the Republican and Dunkirk First lines, while Buchanan ran on the Democratic, Conservative, and Working Families lines. However after reviewing votes cast and counting the absentee ballots, Buchanan won by 80 votes, 809-729.

Even with Buchanan’s victory, Republicans will still hold a super-majority on the county legislature. Come Jan. 1, there will be 14 Republicans and five Democrats. The current make-up of the legislature is 15-4. In Chautauqua County, a party must have at least 13 members to have a two-thirds majority. While most legislation requires a majority to pass, some legislation does require a minimum of 13 votes.

None of the other votes changed as a result of reviewing close races and counting absentee ballots.


In the city of Dunkirk, Kate Wdowiasz’s victory for mayor was confirmed. Wdowiasz, who ran on the Democratic and Working Families lines, received 1,289 votes, while David Damico, who ran on the Republican and Conservative lines, received 1,213 votes.

For Dunkirk Town Council, Shari Miller and Jean Crane were the top vote-getters for the two seats up for election. Miller, who ran on the Republican and Conservative lines, received 170 votes, and Crane, who ran on the Republican line, received 167 votes. G. Jay Bishop, who ran on the Conservative line, received 149 votes.

For Ripley Highway Superintendent, Jason Jones won over James Spacht 348-343. Jones ran on the Democratic, Republican and Conservative lines, while Spacht ran on the Vote 4-Integrity line.

For Ellington Town Council, Bradley Griffith and David Brainard were the top vote-getters for the two seats up for election. Griffith, received 184 votes, while Brainard received 168 votes. They both ran on the Republican line. Meanwhile, Loren Kent received 166 votes and Jeffrey Chase received 113 votes. They both ran on the Democratic line.

In Cassadaga, Cathleen Cruver and William Astry were the top vote-getters for the two trustee seats up for election. Cruver received 109 votes and Astry received 95 votes. They both ran on the Taxpayers line. Sean Seibert, who ran on the Kayaker line, received 79 votes.

The write-in ballots were still being counted and reviewed Monday, so no announcement has been made for the write-in seat for Celoron trustee.

Abram said an announcement is expected Tuesday.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $2.99/week.

Subscribe Today