Swing Away

Annual Myers Bennett Golf Tournament Held

Pictured, from left, are Scott Neubauer, Mark Neubauer, Jerry Moran and Reggie Houghwot, members of the first place handicap team at the Myers Bennett Memorial Tournament. Submitted photos

FALCONER — On a day that started with stormy weather, 136 golfers came to Breezewood Links to play in the Meyers Bennett Memorial Golf Tournament to support the Kennedy Fire Department.

Participants said the Beightol family did a “great job” getting the course ready for play as always, especially with the early rains. As the day went on, the sun came out and a beautiful breeze made it a good day for a round of golf to support a worthy cause. Players said that they make it a point to participate in this event each year.

The first tournament was held in 1995 as a memorial to Kennedy Fire Department Chief George Meyers, who had died in 1994. Chief Bill Bennett knew how much Chief Myers had loved a round of golf, and how much he believed in teaching children about fire safety, so he started a golf tournament for area fire departments to participate in, which raised funds to help with the cost the fire department incurs to teach area school children.

Over the years, the tournament evolved into a contest for the general public. When Chief Bennett was killed while answering an emergency call, the tournament was renamed to honor both men.

Following a dinner of barbecue chicken prepared by the Ellington Fire Department, Jon Payne, Kennedy Fire Department Treasurer and coordinator of the tournament, announced the team and individual winners for the day. In the scratch division, first place with a round of 60 went to the team of Rick Shattuck. After a match of cards, second place went to Henry Johnson’s team with a score of 64.

From left are Rick Shattuck, Tim Ford, Dan Matteson and Frank Lewczyk, members of the first place scratch team at the Myers Bennett Memorial Tournament.

The handicap division first place was awarded to the team of Jerry Moran with a 64. A score of 66 took second place for Chris Swanson’s team. Men’s longest drive on hole No. 2 went to Henry Johnson. Men’s closest to the pin on hole No. 3 was Mark Neubauer. Men’s closest to the pin on hole No. 17 was Calin Price. Ladies’ longest drive on hole No. 15 was Allison Johnson. Ladies closest to the pin on hole #10 was Christine Wood.

Payne thanked everyone for coming to the tournament and honoring the memory of the Kennedy Fire Department’s former Chiefs. Area children will be safer because of their participation in a fun event.