Jena Calph Of Bemus Point Elementary School Named Counselor Of The Year

Pictured from left are Sonja DuBois, Bemus Point Elementary School principal, Jena Calph, Bemus Point Elementary School counselor, and Tricia Dallas, CCCA President and Frewsburg Jr/Sr High School counselor.

Jena Calph, a school counselor at Bemus Point Elementary School, has been named the Chautauqua County Counselors Association’s Robert Minton Counselor of the Year for 2022-23.

“This award has been created to annually recognize a member of the Chautauqua County Counselors Association for their hard work, outstanding contributions and inspirational service that embody the professional and personal characteristics of Mr. Minton,” said Tricia Dallas, Chautauqua County Counselors Association president. “As a recipient of this award, one is being acknowledged for their work, their kindness and their bright spirit. We hope that in recognizing the countless efforts and dedication to the students and community that the legacy of Mr. Minton will carry on through those who follow in his footsteps and continue to pave the way in creating positive change and spreading kindness into the world. In her short time at Bemus Point Elementary, Jena has made a tremendous impact, not only on the students, but the staff as well. Based on what her colleagues had to say, it has been made very clear that Jena is a difference maker, and that is something all school counselors strive to be in their role.”

Calph has worked as a school counselor at Bemus Point Elementary School for three years. Prior to her current position, she has also served as a school counselor at Dunkirk Middle School, Union East Elementary in Cheektowaga, and in Charles County, Maryland.

“Jena is one of the most dedicated and well-equipped counselors and she is a perfect candidate for this award. She is relatable and deeply understands people,” Bemus Point Principal Sonja DuBois said. “I cannot think of a better person for this award.” Other colleagues also describe Jena as “supportive, a true source of joy, and absolutely essential to the district.”

The Chautauqua County Counselors Association is a professional organization comprised of school counselors, school psychologists, and school social workers representing 19 Chautauqua County school districts and three higher education institutions. Each school year, the Chautauqua County Counselors Association awards scholarships to Chautauqua County high school seniors pursuing a major in a counseling-related field, social work or education. Chautauqua County Counselors Association scholarships are fully funded by yearly membership dues, fundraising and donations.

For more information about the CCCA or to make a donation, contact CCCA President Tricia Dallas at tdallas@frewsburgcsd.org.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *


Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today