Audubon Accepting Applications For Memorial Scholarship

Last year’s Ryan Exline Memorial Scholarship winner, Jamestown High School graduate Hannah Hornyak, is shown at left with Sarah Hatfield, Audubon education coordinator, participating in the 2020 Birdathon that funds the scholarship.

The Audubon Community Nature Center is accepting applications for the 2021 Ryan Exline Memorial Scholarship through Thursday, March 18.

Each year in early May, Audubon education staff and their guests hold a day-long Birdathon. The event raises $500 for a scholarship that is awarded to an area college-bound high school senior or college student who intends to pursue a bachelor’s degree in an environmental or related field.

The scholarship is named in memory of one of its earliest recipients. Ryan Exline was a part of the Audubon family for many years. He assisted with gardening, eagle care, live animal care, and educational programs. He was pursuing a master’s degree at Duke University when he died in a car accident. Audubon honors him by naming this scholarship for him.

Previous scholarship winners are Hanna Hornyak, Diego Rey, Christina McMillan, Heather Zimba, Taylor West, Brandon Allen, Connor Clendenen, Allison Cramer, Alex Kulakowski, Elyse Johnson, Brenton Maille, Alyssa D’Alessandro, Alexa Vazquez, Tricia Bergstue, Karen Eckstrom, Bill Langworthy, Rex Everett, Ryan Exline, and Eve Gaus.

More information and an application form are online at AudubonCNC.org/scholarships. Applications can also be obtained by contacting Sarah Hatfield, education coordinator, at 569-2345 or SHatfield@AudubonCNC.org.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today