Cassadaga Valley Faculty Association Awards Scholarships

Front row, from left, are Mr. Helwig, Spencer Blake and Anna Wenger. Back row, from left, are Katrinah Bretl, Holly Crandall, Cheryl Dewyea, and Mrs. Stoddard.

SINCLAIRVILLE — Since 1993, the Cassadaga Valley Central School Faculty Association has awarded 166 scholarships to graduating seniors totaling $76,400.

This year’s five recipients, each receiving an award in the amount of $500, raise the total to 171 recipients awarded $78,900.

The committee noted an exceptional group of well qualified applications was received, which made the choice a difficult one. Essays from students matched with criteria from the faculty proved to be highly demanding for the committee volunteers.

This year’s recipients along with college and major choices are as follows:

¯ Spencer Blake, University of Buffalo, Biomedical Sciences

¯ Holly Crandall, Ohio State University, Animal Science with a pre-professional designation in Veterinary Studies;

¯ Katrinah Bretl, Fredonia State University, Adolescence Education;

¯ Anna Wenger, University of Rochester, Math and Physics; and

¯ Cheryl Dewyea, University Of Pittsburgh-Bradford, Criminal Justice.