Southern Chautauqua FCU Opens New Dunkirk Branch

Pictured is the Board of Directors of the Southern Chautauqua Federal Credit Union along with its supervisory committee members: Seated from left to right is: Geraldine (Jerry) Felton, Supervisory committee and former Southern Chautauqua Federal Credit Union CEO, Melvin Feather, board president, Christine Fosberg, associate board member, Taras Korol, director, Nancy Ferguson, supervisory committee. Standing from left to right are James Casini, board secretary, Shawn Howard, Director, Ted Kapuscinski, past-director, Jared Chrispell, director, Rodney Beckerink, board treasurer, Larry Fiorella, director, Tim Smeal, director and supervisory chairman, and William Caldwell, board vice president.

Southern Chautauqua Federal Credit Union (SCFCU) opened its newest branch in Dunkirk recently in the former Bob Evans restaurant building at 3877 Vineyard Drive.

Southern Chautauqua Federal Credit Union was chartered in December of 195 3 , is a member owned financial institution and is honored to be the only designated Community Development Financial Institution in Chautauqua County. CDFI certification is the U.S. Department of the Treasury’s recognition of specialized financial institutions serving low to moderate income communities and to people who lack access to financing.

Southern Chautauqua Federal Credit Union also holds the Juntos Avanzamos designation. Juntos Avanzamos (“Together We Advance”) is a designation for credit unions committed to serving and empowering Hispanic and immigrant consumers helping them navigate the U.S. financial system and providing safe, affordable, and relevant financial services. Juntos Avanzamos credit unions employ bilingual, culturally competent staff and leadership , accept alternative forms of ID, and treat all their members with respect, regardless of immigration status.

Southern Chautauqua Federal Credit Union has six branches: Lakewood, Jamestown, Cherry Creek, Brocton, Clymer and Dunkirk. SCFCU also has opened 3 School Based branches (Southwestern High School, Jamestown High School, and Frewsburg High School) that assists in the financial education of the students along with offering them access to financial products (Savings Accounts, etc.) Anyone (or any entity) who lives, works, worships, attends school, or does business within Chautauqua County is eligible to bank with Southern Chautauqua FCU. SCFCU supplies financial services and products t o any and all that fall into the description above, however, 25 to 30 percent of its members (customers) are from low to moderate income households which falls into our mission to help those households with their financial needs.

“Adding the Dunkirk location strengthens our footprint, allowing us to fulfill our mission on being a financial resource to all of Chautauqua County,” said Mel Feather, board president.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *


Starting at $4.60/week.

Subscribe Today