Seedings Set For State Qualifier

The New York State Public High School Athletic Association Section VI wrestling qualifiers will take place Saturday. Division I grapplers will head to North Tonawanda while Division II qualifying will take place at Lake Shore, with both tournaments scheduled to begin at 10 a.m.

The individual champion from each weight class will earn a trip to the NYSPHSAA tournament on Feb. 24-25 at the Times Union Center in Albany, while four wild-card selections for each class will also be chosen from around New York State.

Jamestown will be well represented in the Division I brackets, with Nick Ewan entering as the second seed at 99 pounds. The senior will enter with a record of 25-7 and look to upset Brian Bielec of Grand Island, who holds a record of 36-7 in the top spot.

The Red Raiders will be led at 113 pounds by Cody Pool in the No. 3 spot, as the senior looks to improve his 30-4 mark.

Parker Rozler of Lancaster sits in the top spot with a 33-11 mark while Mike Catanzaro of Williamsville North is the No. 2 man and sits at 17-3.

Jomar Medero-Montanez is in the No. 5 spot at 138 pounds for Jamestown thanks to a record of 21-18. That class is currently led by Vinny Catanzaro of Williamsville North, who looks to improve on his record of 34-1. Following behind Catanzaro are Jacob Dewolf of Niagara Wheatfield, Ryan Hornstrom of Hamburg and Nate Williams of Niagara Falls.

Jamestown will have another No. 2 wrestler at 145 pounds in Seth MacTavish. MacTavish is coming off a Section VI Class AA Championship which came in the form of a 3-2 decision over Kahlil Perry of Maryvale. MacTavish boasts a record of 34-4 and will have his eyes set on No. 1 Warren McDougald of Niagara Wheatfield and his record of 36-4.

Noah Turzillo rounds out the top Jamestown seeds, as the senior sits at No. 2 and looks to improve on his record of 30-6 at 220 pounds.

Joe Andreessen of Lancaster is the man to beat with a record of 39-3.

The Red Raiders have also qualified Dan O’Brien at 106 pounds, as he brings a record of 4-13. Derrick Howser of Jamestown has also qualified as an alternate at 120 pounds with a record of 20-18.

Starting at 99 pounds in the Division II brackets, Luke Tomlinson of Maple Grove is the man to beat with a record of 42-2 in the No. 1 spot.

David Ball of Gowanda is No. 4, Nate Gabler of Olean is No. 5, while unseeded qualifiers include Trevor Ellis of Salamanca, Hunter Harris of Chautauqua Lake/Westfield/Panama and Brayden Newman of Falconer/Cassadaga Valley.

Garrett Swan of Southwestern is the No. 4 seed at 106 pounds with a record of 26-8, while unseeded qualifiers include Trent Burchanowski of Chautauqua Lake/Westfield/Panama, Andrew DeArmitt of Portville and Xander Hind of Randolph.

Also earning a seed for the Trojans is Michael Carnes at No. 6 at 113 pounds thanks to a record of 30-8, while Nick Carro of Portville, Peter Calanni of Fredonia, Nolan Palmatier of Franklinville and Garrett Luce of Randolph will look to fight their way up from unseeded draws.

Nick Bierfeldt of Olean is the No. 1 seed at 120 pounds with a record of 31-4, followed by No. 2 Brendon Ramsey of Chautauqua Lake/Westfield/Panama and No. 3 Brandon Wallace of Fredonia. Unseeded picks include Wyatt Sluga of Randolph, Brendon Rowe of Chautauqua Lake/Westfield/Panama and Carter Peet of Randolph.

Austin Bourgeois of Chautauqua Lake/Westfield/Panama is the area’s lone seed at No. 4 at 126 pounds with a record of 26-8, while Ethan Fort of Gowanda is an alternate and unseeded wrestlers include Michael Defoe of Franklinville as well as Joe Pillitieri and Tony Fiasco of Falconer/Cassadaga Valley.

Hector Colom is in the driver’s seat at 132 pounds after taking home a Class C title and now holding a record of 32-2. Matt Evans of Randolph is the No.2 seed after taking home a Class D individual title and holding a record of 32-2. Evans was able to leap-frog No. 3 Jacob Vergien by virtue of a 1-1 record on the year with Colom.

Jimmy Kramer of Falconer/Cassadaga Valley is the No. 5 seed after his last-second loss to Colom, while Jason Oberer of Cattaraugus-Little Valley has been moved up to the No. 6 spot from an alternate position after a withdrawal.

Trey Hoyt of Chautauqua Lake/Westfield/Panama and Jaiden Slagle of Frewsburg have also qualified at 132.

Giovani Russo of Fredonia is the No. 2 seed at 138 with his 35-2 mark, while Gavin Kulp of Olean is the No. 4 seed.

Nick Saeger of Falconer/Cassadaga Valley is in the No. 6 spot while Taige Jones of Maple Grove is the alternate. Unseeded grapplers include Zach Phillips of Gowanda and Brennan Niver of Portville.

Sam Grey of Cattaraugus-Little Valley is No. 3 at 145 pounds thanks to his win earlier in the year against No. 4 Derek Ecklund of Chautauqua Lake/Westfield/Panama.

Roland Thompson of Portville is No. 6 while Jacob Monat of Gowanda, Jeremiah Crivelli of Olean and Hudson Johnson of Falconer/Cassadaga Valley are unseeded qualifiers.

Dylan Ingrao is No. 1 at 152 with a record of 42-4, including a Class C individual title from this past weekend.

Joining his teammate Ingrao will be unseeded Bryce Baglia, with Mike Liszkiewicz and Dominik Rodriguez of Gowanda also earning unseeded spots.

Another Golden Cougar with a recent Class C title is Dan Torres, who holds the No. 1 spot at 160 pounds, ahead of No. 2 Bryce Rowe of Chautauqua Lake/Westfield/Panama.

Torres holds a 2-1 margin over Rowe this season, and unseeded 160-pounders include Derek Langdon of Franklinville, Brad Barton of Olean, Ceric Kristan of Fredonia and Carter Russo of Maple Grove.

Robbie Penhollow will also be a No. 1 seed for Drew Wilcox’s team at 170 pounds after earning his Class C title by first-round fall. Penhollow sits at 51-1, and will look to fend of No. 3 Devan Moore of Olean, No. 4 Cleon Lawton of Franklinville his teammate Jordan Dustin at No. 5.

Jake Tomlinson of Maple Grove, Angel Caraballo of Dunkirk and Nick Marsh of Frewsburg round out the local talent at 170.

Giuseppe Hoose is No. 1 at 182 with his record of 33-2, while Olean’s Patrick Walsh is No. 3. Dakota Olson of Franklinville is an alternate and Quinton Fredrick of Chautauqua Lake/Westfield/Panama has also earned a qualification at 182.

Zak Trim of Maple Grove is No. 1 at 195 pounds, thanks to a victory over No. 2 Corey Keefe of Falconer/Cassadaga Valley. The senior holds a record of 37-3 overall while Keefe sits at 44-7 on the season and Randolph’s Jacob Zachar is as the No. 4 seed with a mark of 20-15.

Dontae Hoose of Southwestern and Mike Smalls of Portville will also be in the mix.

Conner Walsh of Olean leads the way at 220 with a record of 35-3, good for the No. 2 seed while Ben Szymanowski of Chautauqua Lake/Westfield/Panama is No. 3 with a mark of 30-7. Walsh was defeated by No. 1 Mike Rigerman of Pioneer previously.

Noah Francis of Gowanda is also in the mix at 220.

Rounding out the local seeds at 285 is another top-ranked grappler as Nick Becker of Randolph looks to improve his 27-2 mark.

Tanner Hulse of Olean is No. 6 and Yaniel Acevado is the alternate while Grant Cheney of Falconer/Cassadaga Valley and Jiyah-Mentley Peters of Gowanda are also in the mix.