Local Police Recognized For Road Safety

AAA East Central honored local police departments Wednesday for their “outstanding efforts to increase road safety for all motorists.”

Four Orleans and Niagara County departments received Platinum Awards, while an additional six departments were honored with Gold, Silver, or Bronze awards.

“We are honored to recognize these local departments for their efforts in the Community Traffic Safety Program,” said Theresa Podguski, director of legislative affairs, AAA East Central. “Each organization has gone above and beyond their call of duty to make their community a safer place for motorists and residents.”

The Platinum awards were given to “Commendable Leaders” for their safety efforts and enforcement activities geared towards making communities safer. The recipients of the prestigious awards were police departments in Jamestown and St. Marys; the Chautauqua County Sheriff’s Office; and New York State Police in Jamestown.

Gold awards, the second highest recognition to be given, were awarded to the Youngsville Police Department, the Warren Police Department, and the Sheriff’s Departments in Warren and Elk Counties. A silver award was given to the Conewango Police Department. A bronze awards was given to the University of Pittsburgh at Bradford Police Department.

AAA East Central conducts a variety of free highway safety programs throughout New York and Pennsylvania focusing on all age groups. The Club also partners with law enforcement and safety agencies on initiatives to improve community safety.