Sunday Is Final Night Of Regular Season At Eriez Speedway

HAMMETT, Pa. — The 2018 regular season will come to a close Sunday evening at Eriez Speedway with the first-ever visit by the Ultimate Northeast Series Late Models.

All other divisions will compete in regular cards of heats and features. Only one of the season championships has been decided with the widest margin being 133 points (RUSH Crate Lates) and the closest being only 5 points (Economods) with the top three having only an 8-point spread.

Phantom Signs and Graphics will be sponsoring “Kid’s Night.” The first 100 kids that come to Phantom Signs and Graphics display will receive a free T-shirt with one lucky youngster getting a prize package courtesy of them. There will also be bicycle giveaways to kids in different age groups.

The Plyler Entry Systems Super Late Model points have ended with defending champion Dave Hess repeating his championship. This is Hess’ fourth title in the Super Late Model class, the previous coming in 2006, 2011 and 2017. Breyton Santee, the opening-night winner, finished the season a distant third, another 201 points behind Blair. Darrell Bossard, (the 2015 champion), was another 19 points back, and Matt Urban (the 1998 and 1999 champion) 38 behind Bossard, filled out the top five. The 2016 champion, Rob Blair, did not compete this season. Winners this summer include Hess twice, Max Blair with three, Santee with one, Boom Briggs with one and Chase Junghans in the World of Outlaws special Aug. 19.

Max Blair, with four wins, leads the Bonnell’s Auto Group RUSH Crate Late Models standings by 133 points over former champion Jason Genco. Another former champion, Kyle Zimmerman, is third another 21 points behind Genco. Scott Gurdak, another 34 points back, and Khole Wanzer, yet another 166 points behind Gurdak, round out the top five.

Ran Den Excavating E-Mods standings show Troy Johnson, the winner July 1, as leading Gary Eicher, also a one-time winner, by 31 markers. Yet another single winner, John Boyd, is third, another 71 points behind. Steve Simon, the July 15 winner, is fourth yet another 47 points back. Three-time winner Joel Watson, a former champion, is fifth, 81 behind Simon.

Matt Alexander, not yet a winner, leads the Johnson’s Car Care and Collision Economods season standing by a mere 5 points over Erie Reinwald, the winner Aug. 19. Three-time winner Kyle Miller is third, only another 3 points behind Reinwald. The final week of points racing will be a wild affair among the three contenders, none of whom have ever had a championship. Geoff Conn is fourth, another 151 points back with Mitchell Wright another 28 points back.

John Boardman leads defending champion Chris McGuire in the Nelson-Lynwood Nursery Street Stocks title race with a 102-point edge going into the final week. Bill Applebee is third, another 101 points back with Wesley McCray Jr. another 50 points back. Garrett Calvert is fifth, 69 markers behind McCray.

Skip Jackson has only a 34-point cushion from his closest pursuer, Dylan Greene, in the Niemeyer’s Garage Challengers division. Greene, in turn, has a 137-point edge over third-running Jeff Nunemaker. All three contenders have a single feature win this summer. Zack Eller, another 135 points back, and Wes Stull, trailing Eller by 35, are fourth and fifth.

Eriez Speedway is located on Sampson Road, just off Lake Pleasant Road in the town of Hammett, Pennsylvania, 3 miles south of Interstate 90. Take Route 8 South from Interstate 90, Exit 29 and follow the signs starting in Hammett. Admission for this special event is $16 for adults, $13 for seniors and military (with ID), $6 for children ages 6-15 and children 5 and under are free. A family pass for two adults and up to four kids under 16 is available for $38. Pit admission is $30 for all ages. Fan gates open at 4:30 p.m. and pit gates open at 3:30 p.m. with the first green flag shown at 6:30 p.m.