Turzillo, Pumford Earn All-State Nods

Jamestown's Noah Turzillo was named to the New York State Sportswriters Association’s Class AA All-State football team Friday. P-J file photos by Chad Ecklof

The New York State Sportswriters Association released its All-State football selections for Class AA and Class A on Friday, with Section VI being well represented.

After finishing the year at 5-4, Jamestown offensive lineman Noah Turzillo was named to the Fourth-Team offense in Class AA.

Turzillo captained an offensive unit that ended the season with 1,464 yards rushing, including 21 touchdowns, while the senior was also in on 93 tackles, including 17 for a loss, six-and-a-half sacks and 15 hurries defensively.

Teammate Andrew Pumford, a senior wide receiver, was selected as an honorable-mention choice after being in on 62 tackles, including one for a loss, to go along with two interceptions, 17 passes defended and a forced fumble.

Finishing the year at 12-1 after falling to Troy in the NYSPHSAA title game, the Lancaster Legends were well-represented in Class AA, starting with First-Team offense choice Ben Damiani. The senior offensive lineman led a rushing attack that finished the year with 2,353 yards and 40 touchdowns.

Jamestown’s Andrew Pumford was named to the New York State Sportswriters Association’s Class AA All-State football team Friday. P-J file photo by Chad Ecklof

Also for the Legends, linebacker Joe Andreessen and defensive back Max Giordono were First-Team defense choices; linebacker Brett Beetow was Second-Team defense; quarterback Ryan Mansell and running back Andrew Hersey were Fourth-Team defense; and lineman Jacob Calo was Fifth-Team offense.

Representing Canisius on this year’s list were Second-Team offense choices Will McGennis, who served as a key part of an offensive line which amassed 2,273 yards rushing and 41 touchdowns, and wide receiver Paul Woods, who caught 43 passes for 651 yards and eight touchdowns.

Also for the Crusaders; quarterback Jayce Johnson was Third-Team offense along with lineman Brad Currell; and linebacker Joe Jamison was Fifth-Team defense.

Rounding out the Section VI representatives were St. Francis linebacker Jadd Dolegala on the Fourth-Team defense; lineman Nick Bruce and kicker Brian Strybel of Orchard Park on the Fifth-Team offense; lineman Syquan Ralands (Niagara Falls), linebacker Scott Becht (Williamsville North) and defensive back Dylan Bieler (Orchard Park) on the Fifth-Team defense; and St. Joseph’s running back Jaden Lofton on the Sixth-Team offense.

After being named as the 46th winner of the Connolly Cup, West Seneca West quarterback Matt Myers continued to pad his resume and was been named co-Player of the Year in Class A alongside running back Dylan Laube of Section XI Westhampton.

Myers led the Indians to a NYSPHSAA title and finished his year with 2,407 yards and 24 touchdowns through the air while rushing 137 times for 1,040 yards and 22 scores. The 6-foot-4 senior standout has committed to play for the University at Buffalo.

West Seneca West teammates joining Myers with All-State honors were offensive lineman Bradley Claycomb on the First-Team offense; defensive lineman Liam Scheuer and linebacker Mike Glinski on the First-Team defense; wide receiver Juston Johnson on the Second-Team offense; defensive back Bryan Ball on the Second-Team defense; and wide receiver Jesse Broad on the Fourth-Team offense.

Also on the First-Team defense was defensive lineman Jeremiah Sanders of South Park while teammate and offensive lineman Dayquan Anderson was been named to the Second-Team offense along with offensive lineman Kyle Schreader of Starpoint. On the Second-Team defense was defensive lineman Jamelle Jones of Williamsville South and linebacker Mile Haynes of McKinley.

The Third-Team offense included Section VI selections C.J. Perillo, who spent his senior season at halfback with Iroquois; and North Tonawanda offensive lineman Jordan Holmes.

Defensive back Joe Shifflet of Williamsville East was named to the Third-Team defense; Starpoint running back Anthony Robinson and West Seneca East all-purpose Jacob Maurino were named to the Fourth-Team offense; South Park running back Clarence Thomas and Grand Island Zane Johnson were named to the Fifth-Team offense; and defensive lineman Devonte Fountain of South Park and linebacker Spencer Slachetka of Iroquois were Fifth-Team defense selections.

Additional Honorable-Mention selections in Class AA included: St. Joseph’s quarterback Casey Kelly, Niagara Falls linebacker Syveon Ralands and St. Francis defensive back MeliQue Straker. Honorable-Mention choices in Class A included: South Park quarterback Deabeyon Humphrey, Sweet Home lineman Robert Giancarlo, Williamsville East linebackers Kevin Steele and Dan Wagner, and Kenmore West defensive back Joe Stewart.