Evans Is New No. 1 At 132

Winning the Most Outstanding Wrestler Award at the Cattaraugus-Little Valley Invitational on Saturday earned Randolph senior Matt Evans the top spot at 132 pounds in this week’s Wrestling Review of Western New York rankings.

Evans beat Fredonia senior Hector Colom, 2-1, in his final match Saturday and was rewarded Sunday with the No. 1 spot. Colom — the previous top-ranked wrestler — moved down to No. 2.

The only other No. 1 spot to change hands was at 113 pounds where Lancaster senior Parker Rozler moved up from No. 2 as the previous top-ranked wrestler, Clarence sophomore Aiden Rabideau, moved to No. 3 at 120 pounds.

Falconer/Cassadaga Valley held on to its three individual top spots and the top spot among Small School teams. Senior Dylan Ingrao is No. 1 at 152 pounds, senior Dan Torres is No. 1 at 160 pounds and junior Robbie Penhollow is No. 1 at 170 pounds. The Golden Cougars remained No. 1 in the team rankings after going 1-1 in round-robin action at the NYSPHSAA Dual Meet Championship in Syracuse. Golden Cougars senior Corey Keefe dropped down to No. 3 at 195 pounds and junior Nick Saeger is honorable mention at 138 pounds.

Chautauqua Lake/Westfield/Panama remained No. 7 and Fredonia remained No. 8 while Southwestern moved into the rankings at No. 9. Randolph dropped down a spot to No. 10.

Maple Grove freshman Luke Tomlinson remained No. 1 at 99 pounds while Red Dragons senior Shane Hetrick is still No. 1 at 120 pounds. Their senior teammate Zak Trim is No. 2 at 195 pounds.

Fredonia junior teammate Giovanni Russo is No. 1 at 138 pounds. Hillbillies sophomore Dalton Gardner is listed as injured reserve at 126 pounds while sophomore Jake Skinner is honorable mention at 220 pounds.

Southwestern senior Giuseppe Hoose is No. 1 at 182 pounds while his freshman teammate Garrett Swan is honorable mention at 106 pounds.

Jamestown senior Noah Turzillo is No. 2 at 220 pounds while junior Cody Pool is No. 3 at 113 pounds and senior Seth MacTavish moved up to No. 3 at 145 pounds. The Red Raiders are ranked No. 9 among Large Schools, with Lancaster at No. 1.

Chautauqua Lake/Westfield/Panama senior Bryce Rowe is No. 2 at 160 pounds while junior teammate Austin Bourgeois is honorable mention at 126 pounds and junior Derek Ecklund is honorable mention at 145 pounds.

Randolph senior Nick Becker is honorable mention at 285 pounds.

Gowanda freshman David Ball is honorable mention at 99 pounds and Cattaraugus-Little Valley junior Sam Grey is honorable mention at 145 pounds.

Other top-ranked wrestlers include North Tonawanda junior Tyler Bartolomei at 106 pounds, Tonawanda junior Zach Braddell at 126 pounds, Niagara-Wheatfield junior Warren McDougald at 145 pounds, Lancaster senior Joe Andreessen at 195 pounds, Pioneer junior Mike Rigerman at 220 pounds and Grand Island senior Jaquan Johnson at 285 pounds.


Large School: 1. Lancaster; 2. Grand Island; 3. Niagara-Wheatfield; 4. St. Francis; 5. St. Joe’s; 6. Hamburg; 7. Frontier; 8. Clarence; 9. Jamestown; 10. Lockport

Small School: 1. Falconer/Cassadaga Valley; 2. Akron/Alden; 3. Pioneer; 4. Iroquois; 5. Newfane; 6. Olean; 7. Chautauqua Lake/Westfield/Panama; 8. Fredonia; 9. Southwestern; 10. Randolph.


99: 1. Luke Tomlinson (Maple Grove-8); 2. Carson Alberti (Depew-8); 3. Andy Lucinski (Newfane-9). HM: David Ball (Gowanda-9), Collin Coughanour (Niagara-Wheatfield-7), Myles Gronowski (Lancaster-8)

106: 1. Tyler Bartolomei (North Tonawanda-11); 2. Mikey Evans (Springville-9); 3. Jake Harry (Lancaster-12). HM: Logan Haseley (Niagara-Wheatfield-7), Garrett Swan (Southwestern-9), Owen Weller (Frontier-10).

113: 1. Parker Rozler (Lancaster-12); 2. Mike Catanzaro (Williamsville North-9); 3. Cody Pool (Jamestown-11). HM: Mohamed Alshawai (Lackawanna-8), Steven Bachman (Grand Island-12), Alex Skowronski (East Aurora-10)

120: 1. Shane Hetrick (Maple Grove-12); 2. Nick Bierfeldt (Olean-11); 3. Aiden Rabideau (Clarence-10). HM: Ryan Forrest (Hamburg-10), Colby Petrie (Medina-10), Michael Snowden (Niagara Falls-11)

126: 1. Zach Braddell (Tonawanda-11); 2. Justin McDougald (Niagara-Wheatfield-10); 3. Owen Kissell (Akron/Alden-12). HM: Austin Bourgeois (Chautauqua Lake/Westfield/Panama-11), Anthony Corigliano (Clarence-12), Brandon Swaciak (Iroquois-12). IR: Dalton Gardner (Fredonia-10)

132: 1. Matt Evans (Randolph-12); 2. Hector Colom (Fredonia-12); 3. Jacob Vergien (Iroquois-12). HM: Willie McDougald (Niagara Falls-10), Slade Merk (St. Francis-11), Colton Slade (Iroquois-12). IR: Andy Burden (Clarence-12)

138: 1. Giovanni Russo (Fredonia-11); 2. Jake DeWolf (Niagara-Wheatfield-11); 3. Johnny Putney (East Aurora-11). HM: Vinny Catanzaro (Williamsville North-12), Gavin Kulp (Olean-10), Nick Saeger (Falconer/Cassadaga Valley-11)

145: 1. Warren McDougald (Niagara-Wheatfield-11); 2. Cory Day (Iroquois-11); 3. Seth MacTavish (Jamestown-12). HM: Derek Ecklund (Chautauqua Lake/Westfield/Panama-11), Sam Grey (Cattaraugus-Little Valley-11), Caleb Riordan (Pioneer-12)

152: 1. Dylan Ingrao (Falconer/Cassadaga Valley-12); 2. Ryan Stencel (Lancaster-10); 3. Adam Daghestani (Grand Island-10). HM: Tyler Choate (Royalton-Hartland/Barker-12), Logan Kent (North Tonawanda-12), Josh Thibeault (Niagara-Wheatfield-11)

160: 1. Dan Torres (Falconer/Cassadaga Valley-12); 2. Bryce Rowe (Chautauqua Lake/Westfield/Panama-12); 3. Robbie PeQueen (Akron/Alden-12). HM: Cody Fouts (Lewiston-Porter-12), Ty Slaugenhoupt (St. Joe’s-12), Brandon Simonson (Amherst-12)

170: 1. Robbie Penhollow (Falconer/Cassadaga Valley-11); 2. Jake Sarow (Akron/Alden-12); 3. Derek Wojciechowski (Frontier).. HM: Dan Emblidge (Grand Island-12), Joe Mannarino (Clarence-12), Dominik Thomas (St. Francis-11)

182: 1. Giuseppe Hoose (Southwestern-12); 2. Pat Walsh (Olean-11); 3. Steve Daskavitz (Lockport-12). HM: Connor Kenney (Grand Island-11), Julian Nixon (Newfane-12), Conner Walsh (Olean-9)

195: 1. Joe Andreessen (Lancaster-12); 2. Zak Trim (Maple Grove-12); 3. Corey Keefe (Falconer/Cassadaga Valley-12). HM: Blake Bielec (Grand Island-10), Elijah Stones (Medina-12), Nolan Thomas (St. Francis-11)

220: 1. Mike Rigerman (Pioneer-11); 2. Noah Turzillo (Jamestown-12); 3. Cam Walter (Williamsville North-12). HM: Jayden Heers (Newfane-11), Ben Schwab (Royalton-Hartland/Barker-10), Jake Skinner (Fredonia-10)

285: 1. Jaquan Johnson (Grand Island-12); 2. Anthony Robinson (Starpoint-12); 3. Calik Kennedy (Amherst-12). HM: Nick Becker (Randolph-12), Alex Buckley (Lake Shore-12), Jordan Holmes (North Tonawanda-12)