Four Panthers, Two Red Dragons Named To Class D All-State Team

Nine local volleyball players, including four from New York State Public High School Athletic Association Class D runnerup Panama were honored by the New York Volleyball Coaches Association on postseason all-state teams.

The Panthers’ Madalyn Bowen and Quinn Payne were named to the Class D First Team while Natalie Angeletti was named to the Third Team and Kylie Schnars was named to the Fourth Team.

Bowen, a junior outside hitter, led the Panthers with 306 kills to go along with 43 aces, 196 digs and seven blocks. Payne, a senior setter, led Panama with 582 assists and 49 aces to go along with 148 digs and 38 kills. Angeletti, a sophomore outside hitter, had 201 digs, 160 kills and 23 aces. Schnars, a sophomore middle hitter, shined at the state Final Four and finished her season with a team-leading 117 blocks to go along with 83 kills. Bowen, Payne and Angeletti were Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Athletic Association South Division First-Team All-Stars while Schnars was named to the Second Team.

Maple Grove’s Maddy Russo and Olivia Pembridge were named to the Class D Second Team. Russo, a senior outside hitter, had 240 kills and 45 aces while Pembridge, a senior setter, had 484 assists, 57 kills and 40 aces. Both were CCAA South Division First-Team All-Stars.

Cassadaga Valley’s Jenna Caskey was named to the Class C Third Team. The senior middle blocker had 167 kills, 112 digs and 52 aces during her CCAA North Division MVP season as the Cougars finished 18-3 overall, including 14-0 in league.

Chautauqua Lake’s Cameryn Hawkins was named to the Class C Fourth Team. The senior libero led the Thunderbirds with 467 digs to go along with 72 aces, 58 kills and 34 assists. She was also a CCAA South Division First-Team All-Star.

Forestville senior Brooke Ostrye was named to the Class D Third Team.

Junior Abigail Selfridge and freshman Erica Selfridge represented champion Bainbridge-Guilford on the Class D First Team, and were joined by Argyle senior Danielle Sill as well as Tuxedo senior Elizabeth Minano. Argyle senior Autumn Aubrey and Tuxedo senior Kiera Costello were on the Second Team while Tuxedo senior Gabriella Garcia, Argyle sophomore Jessie Wilson and Bainbridge-Guilford junior Zamira Caldwell were on the Third Team.

In Class C, Portville junior Beth Miller and senior Haley Unverdorben were on the First Team while juniors Sierra Keim and Sydney Colligan were on the Second Team.

Other Section VI girls named to all-state teams were Clarence junior Jade Cummings, Lancaster senior Julia Kurowski, Clarence senior Lindsey Leipold, Orchard Park senior Liz Chou and Lancaster senior Katie Becht in Class AA; Williamsville East senior Makayla Greenfield, Williamsville East junior Rachel Steffen, Williamsville East senior Abby Jozwiok, Niagara-Wheatfield junior Jenna Sonnenberg and Hamburg senior Meg Seiver in Class A; East Aurora sophomore Olivia Alessi, East Aurora senior Julia Halsey, East Aurora senior Maddie McLaughlin and Alden junior Shelby Kersten in Class B and Eden senior Sam Logan and Akron senior Neeley Adams in Class C.