Chautauqua Chamber Singers Begin Anniversary Year

From left are Janita Byars, Community Music Project president; Joe Braeger, Community Music Project general manager; Andy Schmidt, Jamestown Choral Society director; and Rebecca Ryan, Chautauqua Chamber Singers director.

The Chautauqua Chamber Singers will begin their 40th year of bringing choral music to the Jamestown area.

The Community Music Project is planning a reunion concert for all current and former members on May 12 and is bringing back former directors Dr. Lee Spear and Roland Martin to participate in the celebration. Those who know of any singers interested can email Joe Braeger at

The Jamestown Choral Society will celebrate its 35th year of music after a hiatus in the 1940s and 1950s. Spear, retired Community Music Project artistic director, re-formed the group in 1987. Under the direction of Andy Schmidt, the Jamestown Choral Society will celebrate its on April 8 in the group’s spring concert.

Information on the entire concert season can be found at