Winifred Crawford Dibert Boys And Girls Club Announce Scholarship Recipients

From left are Kristine Brombacher, Boys and Girls Club board secretary, Jon DeAngelo, Boys and Girls Club Alumni Association president, Scholarship recipients LJ Spangenberg, Matthew Hair, Lauren Hendrick, Kerrigan Walters, Emily Hair and JoAnne Ottoson, Winifred Crawford Dibert Boys and Girls Club of Jamestown board member and scholarship committee chair.

The Winifred Crawford Dibert Boys and Girls Club of Jamestown has announced its 2017 Education Fund Scholarships and Tony LeVoie Memorial Scholarships being presented to area graduating seniors pursuing full-time college or university studies.

Boys and Girls Club Education Fund Scholarships offer $250 in financial assistance, to be used for books or other expenses for up to four years of full-time study, making the total scholarship award up to $1,000 per recipient.

The Education Fund was started through the efforts of the Jamestown Boys Club Alumni Association as a way to perpetuate their members’ own lifelong memories as club members and to give something back to the organization that had done so much for them in their youth.

Receiving freshman year Boys and Girls Club Education Fund scholarship awards are Abigail Hooper, Jamestown High School graduate, and Kerrigan Walters, a graduate of Randolph High School. Hooper will be attending Jamestown Business College and Walters will be attending Nazareth College. Receiving sophomore year Education Fund scholarships are Matthew Hair of Frewsburg, attending Jamestown Community College, and Katelyn Tenpas of Sherman, attending Daemen College. Receiving junior year scholarship awards are LJ Spangenburg of Falconer, attending John Carroll University, and Michael Earle of Falconer, attending the State University at Fredonia. Receiving senior year awards and completing the four-year scholarship program are Emily Hair of Frewsburg, attending Mercyhurst University, and Megan Stahlsmith of Chautauqua Lake, attending Miami University of Ohio.

Given in memory of Anthony LeVoie, long-time aquatics director of the local Boys and Girls Club, the Tony LeVoie Memorial Scholarships offer one-time awards of $500.

Lauren Hendrick, a graduate of Maple Grove High School, and Olivia Sposato, a graduate of Frewsburg High School, are the 2017 recipients of the Tony LeVoie Memorial Scholarship. Hendrick will attend the Rochester Institute of Technology and Sposato will attend Calvin College in Michigan.

New applications are accepted each year in April and May, available through school guidance offices, the Boys and Girls Club office or the club website at Past club youth membership or participation in Boys and Girls Club activities, financial need, academic standing and community service are priorities in awarding the scholarships each year.